UMi Super Review

I’m not the only one excited for the UMi Super. It costs $210, and the specs are, pretty super. You can even sign up on UMi’s website for a chance to win a $70 coupon, which would bring the price down to $140, that’s insane. The standout specs here are the 4GBs of RAM, 4000mAh battery, and the aluminum body. Again based on the specs alone, I would have replaced my Xiaomi Redmi 3 with this UMi Super, but sadly I promised my buddy I would give this phone to him, so I’m stuck with my Redmi 3 for now. So again, some great specs here, let’s see whether the phone is worth it.

Key Specifications
5.5″ 1920×1080 IPS Gorilla Glass 3 Sharp display Helio P10 MTK6755 Octa Core 2.0GHz
4GB Ram, 32GB ROM 13 MP Panasonic® main camera with Dual LEDs , 5MP camera
Android 6.0 Marshmallow GSM 850/900/1900/2100
SIM, MicroSIM, MicroSD WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100
4000mAh Battery by Sony FDD-LTE 800/1800/2100/2600
Fingerprint scanner 75 x 150.8 x 8.5 mm, 185g

Build Quality


The phone looks and feels impeccable. It’s made out of an aluminum unibody with plastic strips on the top and bottom. The design is minimal and clean, it feels solid and expensive, but along with that comes the weight, this phone is heavy..


I’m quite happy with the size here. As you guys know, 5.5” phones are usually too big for me, and I have to say that the Super is actually pretty useable even for me.


You have 2 capacitive buttons on the bottom that don’t light up and are not painted on, weird choice, and a light up halo home button as well. This halo glows different colours and doubles as a notification light. Call me cheesy but I’ve always liked halo style buttons, and the speed at which the halo pulses is also very soothing to watch. I really like the look of the side bezels and the subtle chamfers, it just screams quality.




The power and volume buttons are on the right and are really good quality and the SIM tray is on the left. You also have a quick launch button that will instantly launch into an app, but this only works when the phone is unlocked, so it’s a little less useful here. There’s only 2 spots so it’s either dual sim or single sim and a microSD card. On the bottom is the speaker grille and the USB C port.

The back of the UMi is slightly curved. You have the camera, flash and fingerprint scanner on the centerline of the device and then the UMi logo below that.

How good is the build quality? Well, I’ve played with the HTC 10, and I would say the UMi Super feels 99% as good as the HTC 10. Not only that, but this phone is quite compact for a 5.5” device and it looks great from the back and the front. The build quality here goes toe to toe with flagships that cost 4 times as much, and I would go so far as to say I prefer the build quality here compared to the Galaxy S6 and S7, because I prefer metal to glass phones, less fragile.

Next Page

4 thoughts on “UMi Super Review

  1. UMi Super Photography Contest!
    UMi Super users can share UMi Super camera experience and have chance to win free UMi VR BOX 3!
    For Join visit UMI Official facebook page

    Like

  2. Pingback: UMi Super Review! $220 Pokemon Go phone with massive battery! – Play Pokemon Go

  3. Pingback: UMi Super Review! $220 Pokemon Go phone with massive battery! #PokemonGO – Pokemon Go World

  4. Pingback: UMi Super Review! $220 Pokemon Go phone with massive battery! | Pokémon Go Tutes

Leave a Reply

